CANYON//SRAM Racing and I will race the iconic, Ronde van Vlaanderen in Belgium on Sunday 1st April. The team’s line up for 'Flanders' is Elena Cecchini, Lisa Klein, Kasia Niewiadoma, Pauline Ferrand-Prévot, Trixi Worrack and I. 

Ronny Lauke, my Sports Director and Team Manager admitted that the decision of the final six riders for CANYON//SRAM Racing to start on Sunday hadn’t been an easy one. “It’s the first time for a long time that we’ve had a real problem to figure out which six riders are the best for the race. We’ve been forced to make some uncomfortable decisions because we now have such a strong group of riders to choose from,” 

The prestige, history and atmosphere combined with the brutal physical and mental demands of Ronde van Vlaanderen makes it a race that every rider wants to win in her career.

My team mate Pauline believes that the harder the race the more sweet the victory, and Flanders is hard!!

“It’s an iconic name in the sport. The conditions riders face, the climbs, the cobbles, you need to have so much quality as a rider to win it. I think that every rider wants to prove that they are something special" says Ronny Lauke. 

After a successful start to the spring races Ronny believes we can go into Ronde van Vlaanderen with confidence and with several options to play.

We took our first one-day WorldTour victory (Trofeo Alfredo Binda) 2 weeks ago and we are now in the position where we don’t need to be nervous about getting the victory but now we know how to make it happen. We are all very excited about tomorrow and we hope to perform well and leave an impression on the 2018 edition. 

The 151km Ronde van Vlaanderen covers five cobblestone sections and eleven climbs. This year's course is almost identical to the 2017 edition that was won from a 19-rider sprint, one of the biggest groups to come to the line together since Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won in 2009.

The race starts at 10:55 CET on Sunday 1 April and can be followed on Twitter with #UCIWWT and #RVVwomen. It will be broadcast live on Canvas-Sporza from 13:35 CET.